At-Large Contestants

In 2018, the Mississippi Miss Hospitality program added an at-large contestant component, which enables Mississippi communities without a local director to have a representative in the State Competition.

Contestants must be a woman between the ages of 18 and 24; a resident of Mississippi; represent her hometown, not the community where she attends college; a high school graduate and have a 2.5 or higher scholastic average. Click here for the full list of contestant requirements

Women interested in competing as an at-large participant must submit their application to the State Office by March 6, 2020. Submissions can be emailed to A $75 application fee is required with submission and will be applied to the registration fee if selected as a contestant. The application fee is fully refundable if not selected. 

At-Large Scoring

A panel will select contestants from the at-large candidate pool based upon the following scoring criteria:

Education – 20%
Honors and Activities – 20%
Essay – 30%
Headshot – 20%
Overall Application Presentation – 10%

Total – 100%

The addition of this component is one of the ways the Miss Hospitality competition is encouraging representation from all 82 counties. As the state’s Goodwill Ambassador, Miss Hospitality will not only serve as a spokesperson for Mississippi but will also represent her hometown area.

While participation is encouraged throughout the state, at-large eligibility is ONLY for areas without a local director. Please refer to the list below prior to applying as an at-large contestant.  

2020 Areas with a Local Director

Please see the alphabetical list below for areas that currently have a local director and/or a contestant.  If your area is NOT LISTED, you are eligible to submit an application. 



Covington County


George County

Greene County 



Jasper County

Jefferson County

Jones County

Lamar County

Lauderdale County


Lawrence County


Lee County

Lincoln County

Lowndes County


Marion County





Neshoba County

New Albany


Panola County

Pearl River County

Perry County


Pike County

Piney Woods

Pontotoc County


Smith CountyStarkville

Stone County




Walthall County

Washington County

Wayne County