Miss Hernando Becomes Miss Hospitality

HATTIESBURG, Miss. (WDAM) July 16, 2022 – The competition started with 40 young ladies vying to become the next Miss Hospitality.

That original field of 2022 Miss Hospitality contestants was cut down to first 10 then down to five.

Then there was one.

Hannah Grace Crain of Hernando was crowned 2022 Miss Hospitality Saturday night at the Saenger Theater in downtown Hattiesburg.

Ellis Ann Jackson of Starkville finished runner-up.

Crain and Jackson were among the last five young ladies in the late running. Also in the top five were

Aubree Dillon (Madison County), Anna Kaitlyn Ashley (Magee) and Katherine Bishop (Pike County).

Earlier, the top 10 candidates had been announced, and the additional five finalists included:

  • Jaycee Drew Jansen, Booneville
  • Emily Warren, Pontotoc County
  • Lexie Kent, New Albany
  • Peyton Rounsaville, Greene County
  • Rachel Shoemaker, Smith County

Along with the title and tiara, contestants were competing for thousands of dollars in scholarships

Earlier Saturday, Ashley, Dillon, Jackson and Shoemaker were awarded the Jay Slaughter Memorial Scholarship for 90-second speeches showcasing the state’s history, tourism resources and business assets.

Rounsaville was awarded this year’s social media scholarship, sponsored by the Mississippi Tourism Association.

Keaton Boyd (Walthall County) took home the top ad sales scholarship for generating the most community support for the state competition.

Copyright 2022 WDAM. All rights reserved.

To see this article in its original format, click here.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.