HATTIESBURG (July 17, 2021) — Jane Granberry of Hattiesburg was crowned the 2021 Mississippi Miss Hospitality Saturday evening at the Historic Saenger Theater in Downtown Hattiesburg. With 36 contestants competing for the title, Granberry was selected following the week of competition, which included one-on-one and panel interviews, speeches, on-stage interviews, and an evening gown component.

Selected as the 72nd Mississippi Miss Hospitality, the winner serves as a goodwill ambassador for economic development and tourism during her reign. Granberry will participate in numerous events throughout the state that highlight Mississippi’s tourism attractions and industries.

“Out of all the incredible women that deserved this honor tonight, I am excited to have been chosen to be an ambassador for the state’s economic development and tourism sectors as the next Mississippi Miss Hospitality. My priority is to spread goodwill and encouragement to all Mississippians and visitors that grace our doors,” Granberry said.

Granberry is a sophomore at the University of Mississippi, where she is studying integrated marketing communications and history. Upon graduating, she hopes to work in health communication. She is a member of the Rebellettes Dance Team, Ole Miss Ambassadors, and Kappa Kappa Gamma sorority. Granberry is also in the honors college and Lambda Sigma Honors Society. Granberry is the daughter of Bill and Hermine.

Mississippi Miss Hospitality’s top five contestants were:

  • Jane Granberry, Hattiesburg, 2021 Mississippi Miss Hospitality
  • Becca Childers, New Albany, first alternate
  • Kassidy Young, Pontotoc County, second alternate
  • Sara Hederman, Ridgeland, third alternate
  • Landry Payne, Neshoba County, fourth alternate

Mississippi Miss Hospitality program works with local directors, contestants, and sponsors throughout the year to present the weeklong competition in Hattiesburg. In addition to competing and rehearsing, contestants participate in service projects and city tours, along with teambuilding and leadership activities.

“Mississippi Miss Hospitality travels throughout the state and country to share tourism assets, business advantages, culture, and goodwill to organizations and leaders during her reign,” Kristen Brock, program director, said. “Jane joins a network of talented women who come before her in this role, working to promote Mississippi as the state’s official goodwill ambassador.”

Serving alongside Granberry at official events and appearances will be Bennett-Blair Page, as Mississippi’s Little Miss Hospitality. Contestants locally selected a Little Miss to be on stage with them during competition week. Page is 10 years old and is the daughter of Lindsay Bennett Page and John Brandon Page.

Additionally, a number of other scholarships and awards were given out during competition.

The 36 contestants were provided a social media challenge starting two months before competition week that highlighted their hometowns, the program’s sponsors, and more. This year’s social media scholarship winner, which is awarded by the Mississippi Tourism Association, is Kaitlyn Bradford from Marion County.

The top three Mississippi speech winners were awarded the Jay Slaughter Memorial Scholarship for their 90-second speeches creatively showcasing the state’s history, tourism resources, and business assets. Winners were Grace Robbins, Petal; Kassidy Young, Pontotoc County; and Landry Payne, Neshoba County.

The program awards one young woman a top ad sales scholarship for generating the most community support for the State Competition. The 2021 winner is Karlie Jordan of Lawrence County.

Nominated and voted on by her peers, the program recognizes one young woman as the Spirit of Hospitality for her supportive, welcoming, and kind behavior throughout competition week. This year the award was named in memory of Lake Little of Starkville, who passed away before competition. This year’s winner of the Lake Little Spirit of Miss Hospitality award is Addison-Blair Dyess of Lamar County.

The Southern Miss Image Center provides a scholarship for the Most Photogenic contestant each year. Keely Skellion, Ellisville, was selected as the 2021 recipient.

During the Farewell Brunch for contestants, their families, and local directors on Saturday morning, another honor was given. The 2021 Volunteer of the Year was Ellisville and Ovett’s local director Anita Shawn Crowder, who has served in shaping and supporting young women from the area for nearly 20 years.

For more information or to request Mississippi Miss Hospitality at an event, visit misshospitality.com or the program’s Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.